ACT News


Sarah Avery new president of the Law Society of the ACT

Sarah Avery has become the youngest lawyer to be president of the Law Society of the ACT.

Avery, 33, is a senior associate with Ken Cush and Associates.

"She was appointed senior vice-president of the Law Society in 2015. She is also on the Pro-Bono Clearing House Panel, the Legal Aid Review Panel, the Functions Committee, and is a mentor in the Young Lawyers Mentor Program. Sarah served as a member of the Law Society Council during 2009-12, and has been a member of the Criminal Law Committee," the society said in a statement.

Avery takes over from outgoing president Martin Hockridge.

Chris Donohue (Donohue & Co) and Craig Painter (Snedden Hall & Gallop) were elected vice presidents, Louise Vardanega (Australian Government Solicitor) is secretary and Vik Sundar (Chamberlains Law Firm) treasurer.

The councillors are Valerie Bradley (Trinity Law), Peter Cain (ACT Revenue), Clarissa Campbell (Chamberlains Law Firm), Catherine Coles (Watts McCray), Amy Eager (Legal Aid ACT), Roger Hambly (Minter Ellison), Gavin Lee (Arthur J Gallagher), George Marques (HWL Ebsworth Lawyers), Bronwyn McNeil (Clayton Utz), Phil Schubert (Blumers Personal Injury Lawyers).