Ready, set, shop!

Canberrans will join the rest of the nation at the annual Boxing Day sales on Wednesday, with department stores Myer and David Jones among the first to open their doors at 7am.

David Jones NSW South and ACT regional manager Ben Webster said his chain had begun planning for the sale three months ago, and extra staff would be in place to help cope with the rush.

"The safety of our customers is obviously paramount, we put on additional staff and managers to support the influx of customers, we have in-store first-aid assistance and also additional security in store,” he said.

The Australian National Retailers Association is predicting a $43.4 million spend on Boxing Day in the ACT alone, and $1.8 billion nation wide.

Business shirts are an annual favourite for men looking to stock up for the working year.

David Jones predicts it will sell more than one million business shirts across Australia during the next week, while Myer is expecting them to fly out the door at a rate of 50 a minute on Boxing Day.


"The key tips for the day would be around being prepared and knowing the items that you want to buy, keep yourself hydrated, historically shopping centres are very, very busy that time of year and it's important to keep hydrated through the day, and be organised," Mr Webster said.

Myer is advising customers to wear comfortable shoes and clothes that are easy to take on and off in changing rooms, and to wear a shoulder bag to keep hands free for shopping.

Canberra shops Boxing Day opening hours

David Jones

Canberra Centre and Woden: 7am to 9pm


Canberra Centre and Belconnen: 7am to 7pm

Canberra Centre

8am to 7pm

Westfield Belconnen

8am to 7pm

Westfield Woden

8am to 7pm

Tuggeranong Hyperdome

10am to 4pm


10am to 6pm


9am to 6pm

Harvey Norman

Fyshwick: 8am to 8pm


Canberra Centre, Woden, Belconnen: 8am to 7pm

Tuggeranong: 8am to 5pm


Belconnen, Civic, Tuggeranong: 8am to 6pm

Weston Creek: Closed

Big W

Civic, Canberra Airport, Woden, Gungahlin: 7am to 7pm

Tuggeranong: 7am -9pm


Belconnen: 8am- midnight

Tuggeranong: 8am to 7pm