JavaScript disabled. Please enable JavaScript to use My News, My Clippings, My Comments and user settings.

If you have trouble accessing our login form below, you can go to our login page.

If you have trouble accessing our login form below, you can go to our login page.

Entertainment

The Dark Knight Rises

Information

Find Movie Session Times

Synopsis

The Dark Knight Rises is a 2012 superhero film directed by Christopher Nolan, who co-wrote the screenplay with his brother Jonathan Nolan and the story with David S. Goyer. Based on the DC Comics character Batman, the film is the third and final installment in Nolan's Batman film trilogy, and is a sequel to Batman Begins (2005) and The Dark Knight (2008).

Reviews

Occupy Gotham

Tom Hardy as Bane and Christian Bale as Batman face off in

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Ed Gibbs Christopher Nolan's final Batman chapter is exhilarating and superbly acted, but conservatism lies at its heart.

Reader reviews 38

The Dark Knight Rises review

Cape of good hope amid the gloom

The Dark Knight Rises ... Bane

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Paul Byrnes Comic book superheroes and baddies do not explain the attacks of September 11, nor the Wall Street crisis, and despite Nolan's best efforts, Batman's retirement is overdue.

Reader reviews 38

The Dark Knight Rises

Bane (Tom Hardy) and Batman (Christian Bale) do battle in <i>The Dark Knight Rises</i>.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Paul Byrnes The new movie is all about false gods and heroes, revolting peasants, America since the September 11 attacks and the collapse of the western economies.

Reader reviews 38

First look

The Dark Knight Rises

Christian  Bale as Batman in <i>The Dark Knight Rises</i>.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Philippa Hawker Grand, grim and sometimes gruelling, The Dark Knight Rises is a suitably impressive and ambitious conclusion to Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy.

Reader reviews 38

Dark Knight Rises review

The Dark Knight Rises

d

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

GARRY MADDOX In a movie of dark tones and shadows, it's the spectacle that will attract many viewers in The Dark Knight Rises.

Reader reviews 38

38 reviews so far

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Can't wait any longer !! Going tonight !!

    Commenter
    Kel
    Location
    Date and time
    July 18, 2012, 11:01AM
  • Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

    This review gives away some predictable plot twists and even gets some spoilers wrong, but it doesn't ruin the movie for anyone worried.

    Saw it last night and it's a great watch, personally don't think it's better than the dark knight but it's still a great film regardless. Few minor annoyances like trying to hard to shelve in jokes and Bane can be a challenge to understand at times but all in all it's well worth seeing.

    Commenter
    Jexe
    Location
    Date and time
    July 19, 2012, 5:30AM
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Batman rules

    Commenter
    batboy
    Location
    The Batcave
    Date and time
    July 19, 2012, 9:29AM
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    haters gonna hate

    Commenter
    James
    Location
    Sydney
    Date and time
    July 19, 2012, 11:02AM
  • Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

    Thank you, Paul, for saying what needs to be said about the Nolans. As skilled as he is as a director, Christopher Nolan is a pompous windbag as a screenwriter (seemingly, his brother is too). Inception was a bloated, hideous mess thanks to the wave after wave of tedious, overblown, expositionary dialogue hamfistedly grafted onto scenes. His films are full of fascinating, sometimes memorable moments and sequences yet too often weight down with pretentious 'significance'. The saving grace of the Dark Knight was Heath Ledger lighting up the screen with blackly funny menace and in the Dark Knight rises, again, it's left to the support case (in the form of Anne Hathaway) to enliven the foreboding gloom. It's a shame the Chris Nolan of Memento and Insomnia - engrossing, intriguing, compelling thrillers - has given way to the Chris Nolan of Inception and Dark Knight Rises - self-important, attention-seeking and bombastic.

    Commenter
    janeygotagun
    Location
    Date and time
    July 19, 2012, 2:45PM
    • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

      Time know for cinema knockers to go and get financial backing and all that goes with it and make a few movies themselves.
      I go to the movies for entertainment . I got what I wanted here .

      Commenter
      hewie2u
      Location
      Date and time
      July 22, 2012, 8:07AM
  • Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

    I can't believe you dismiss Nolan's work like that. It was great. I am planning on seeing it a second time. What is so impressive is that he made another killer movie, but one that feels so similar, and yet so different at the same time. This is a different movie from Dark Knight. You feel it. And yet, it's similar in the way all nolan films are similar. His distinctive style.

    People, you must see this on IMAX.

    Commenter
    c1ee
    Location
    Date and time
    July 19, 2012, 3:24PM
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Typical..when a movie gets rave reviews, its typical of some people to go out and bash it, as that will make them different..

    This is a Sueprhero movie.. take the hint. Dont expect to get September 11 mystery to be solved here..

    So just out of curiosity what is your ideal movie? A movie where all muslims are treated in a stereo typical terrorist way and an Amercian , Jack Bauer style comes and saves the nation from yet another disaster?

    Or is it the muppet movie, which helps you glrofy your childhood..

    Commenter
    cm
    Location
    sydney
    Date and time
    July 19, 2012, 4:14PM
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Only until Sunday I will see the movie, before that I can't make a valid argument........... However the reviewer Paul Byrne, what is seriously expected? do you really believe in the tooth fairy?

    Come on, trying to explain 9/11 or the Wall Street crash? This is fiction! Batman doesn't exist, neither does Gotham city. People go to the movies to relax and have a good time (at least for super hero movies).. Movies and Super Heroes are made up to entertain people not to inform, that is the job of the media (in theory at least) and documentaries which are based on reality and research not on the imagination of a movie writer for G sakes!

    I honestly don't know what world you live in but in my own personal opinion, I give your review a single star..... and that is for the effort!

    And I can't post a comment before rating the movie? how many people have seen the movie already? (Thursday 19, 5:32 pm) I would like to be able to rate the article too!

    Commenter
    ValM
    Location
    Sydney
    Date and time
    July 19, 2012, 5:33PM
  • Rating: 0.5 out of 5 stars

    Paul the other reviewers gushed over this film. But yours is right. You know western civilization is in trouble when a crummy series of batman films comes to be regarded like a Citizen Kane trilogy.

    Commenter
    Maria
    Location
    Date and time
    July 19, 2012, 7:38PM

More reviews

Write a review

You are logged in as [Logout]

All information entered below may be published.

Error: Please enter your screen name.

Error: Your Screen Name must be less than 255 characters.

Error: Your Location must be less than 255 characters.

Rate The Dark Knight Rises

Rate The Dark Knight Rises:

Use [left] and [right] keys to rate, [enter] to submit, [esc] to cancel.

Rate The Dark Knight Rises with half a star Rate The Dark Knight Rises with 1 star Rate The Dark Knight Rises with 1.5 stars Rate The Dark Knight Rises with 2 stars Rate The Dark Knight Rises with 2.5 stars Rate The Dark Knight Rises with 3 stars Rate The Dark Knight Rises with 3.5 stars Rate The Dark Knight Rises with 4 stars Rate The Dark Knight Rises with 4.5 stars Rate The Dark Knight Rises with 5 stars

Error: Please select your rating for 'The Dark Knight Rises'.

Error: Please select a rating.

Error: Please enter your review.

Error: Your Message must be less than 300 words.

Post to

You need to have read and accepted the Conditions of Use.

Thank you

Your review has been submitted for approval.

Reviews are moderated and are generally published if they are on-topic and not abusive.