License article

Vance's Joy and Sia's success at 2014 APRA Music Awards

Show comments

Songwriter Sia made Australian music history and Triple J darling Vance Joy picked up another honour at Monday night’s 2014 APRA Awards, held in Brisbane for the first time.

Joy, real name James Keogh, won Song of the Year for Riptide, which won the Triple J Hottest 100 countdown in January.

Sia was crowned Songwriter of the Year, a prize she also took home last year.

It followed a stellar year for the 38-year-old, who wrote songs for big names such as Beyonce, Rihanna, Katy Perry, Kylie Minogue and Jennifer Lopez.

"I am so honoured to be the first songwriter in APRA Awards history to win Songwriter Of The Year, two years in a row,” she said in a video message to the crowd.

“Thank you so much for recognising my work.”


The awards ceremony, at Brisbane’s City Hall, featured a line-up of Queensland presenters and performers, including Sheppard, Megan Washington, Kate Miller-Heidke, Ben Salter and industry legends Carol Lloyd and Lindy Morrison OAM.

Morrison received the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music for her work with seminal 80s Brisbane band The Go-Betweens.

The drummer and fellow band members Amanda Brown and Robert Vickers joined Melbourne duo Big Scary on stage for a performance of People Say.

Despite managing a terminal lung illness, Brisbane’s original 70s rock chick Carol Lloyd gave her all to a cover of Because I Love You by the Masters Apprentices in a tribute to frontman Jim Keays, who died earlier this month aged 67.

Perth five-piece Birds of Tokyo scooped two awards for their anthemic hit Lanterns - the Most Played Australian Work of 2013 and Rock Work of the Year.

Hotshot producer Flume won Dance Work of the Year with Holdin’ On, while Act Your Age by Bliss n Eso and Bluejuice won Urban Work of the Year.

And for the first time the APRA Awards included an Outstanding International Achievement Award, given to Lorde and song-writing partner Joel Little.

“The idea that songs written in this part of the world resonate with so many people across the rest is an inspiring and beautiful feeling,” APRA chair Jenny Morris said.

Despite winning Song of the Year, Vance Joy missed out on Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year - a gong that went to Dutch-born, Sydney-based Louis Schoorl.

The 37-year-old wrote or co-wrote 88 songs in 2013 alone, including Jai Wateford’s In Your Eyes, watched by 1.5 million people on last year’s The X-Factor grand final.

He has also collaborated with acts such as Daniel Johns, 360, Jessica Mauboy and Taylor Henderson.

Despite his prodigious song-writing talent, the multi-instrumentalist is happy to remain in the background.

"I have no desire whatsoever to [be a performer]. I'm not good enough," said Schoorl, who has lived and worked in Australia for 12 years. “I’m not a good singer and I’m not a good performer, I much prefer being in the studio and writing, that’s my thing."