License article

Hawkins to give Top Model universal appeal

Former Miss Universe Jennifer Hawkins has replaced Sarah Murdoch as host of Australia's Next Top Model.

The model and Myer spokesperson will join the show for series eight which will air on Fox 8 next year. The show's judges, fashion designer Alex Perry and former model Charlotte Dawson, will also be returning.

Murdoch announced a year ago that should would be leaving the show as both host and executive producer. At the time Murdoch said: "Leaving the show has been a very difficult decision for me. Being entrusted to work on all aspects as host and co-executive producer has been a huge experience and I have enjoyed it so much."

Today's announcement ends a year-long process of finding a replacement for Murdoch. Hawkins told TodayFM this morning that she has been in negotiations about the show since last year but blamed scheduling conflicts for the delayed appointment.

According to a Foxtel spokesperson the lack of a host contributed to the show taking a hiatus this year. Australia's Next Top Model is scheduled to return in 2013 with auditions kicking off in January.

Hawkins previously hosted Seven's rival modelling reality show, Make Me a Supermodel, which only lasted one season back in 2008. She has also presented for Seven's The Great Outdoors and appeared as a contestant on Dancing with the Stars.

Murdoch hosted Australia's Next Top Model for three years and unfortunately is most famous for incorrectly naming Kelsey Martinovich as the winner in the 2010 live finale. Amanda Ware was announced as the actual winner an awkward moment later.

Post Top Model, Murdoch fronted Ten's new reality show Everybody Dance Now, featuring US performers Jason Derulo and Kelly Rowland.

Airing in August this year the show was a resounding flop for the network and was cancelled in near-record time.


Comment are now closed