A Canberra Liberals truck being used to spread one of their campaign messages.

A Canberra Liberals truck being used to spread one of their campaign messages. Photo: Supplied

And the winner is …

The crash or crash through award for best campaign: the Canberra Liberals.

The content was, ahem, cynical at best. But you can't fault the execution. Zed Seselja's men had a clear cut-through message (''Labor and the Greens will triple your rates'') and they hammered it home at every opportunity. The highly effective scare campaign kept it simple, appealed to the suburban hip pocket and didn't quit all the way to the polling booth. Credit too for the straight-faced efforts of Seselja and his deputy Brendan Smyth under scrutiny from an ever more sceptical media.

Elsewhere, the Liberals ran the best on-the-ground campaign, particularly in their designated battleground of Brindabella where their doorknocking effort was relentless. Yes, they had a bit of luck with the Greens chucking the ball away in the last week, but you need a bit of luck in this game. Besides, Labor was every bit as arsey in Ginninderra.

The Bear Grylls true survivor award: Simon Corbell and Steve Doszpot.

Corbell looked like he'd seen a ghost on election night as rumours swirled he'd run dead in the campaign because he'd had enough of politics. That's not the view of this column which reckons he was genuinely rattled and shocked at the strength of the challenge from fellow Labor candidate Meegan Fitzharris.

The Liberals' Doszpot, who also thought he was in strife under pressure from energetic Lib newcomer Elizabeth Lee, was his usual gracious self on the day after the election, praising Lee's gracious self. Both men got home after a nervous few days. Phew.

The Michelle Bridges greatest loser award: Shane Rattenbury.

Many in the community are still trying to figure out how the Greens get spanked so bad and end up getting so much stuff. Their last man standing Rattenbury has his policy wish list incorporated into an agreement with the Labor minority government. And he gets more money to run his office than Deputy Chief Minister Andrew Barr. Take a bow messrs Hare and Clark.

The Jerry Falwell award for bigotry: Philip Pocock.

The Molonglo independent injected some much-needed colour into the campaign with his call for gay sex and plenty of other types of sex, to be banned. We'll admit it; it was a handy story for a quiet Sunday. It is slightly alarming that 651 of our fellow citizens - you know who you are - voted for him. Stand by for a missive from Pocock pointing out that he's tired of being labelled a homophobe just because he loves the truth.

The Steven Bradbury skate on through award: Yvette Berry and Andrew Wall.

Now nobody is saying that either of the two newbies don't deserve to be in the Assembly. They both ran fine campaigns and worked hard. But just as Caroline Le Couteur owed her 2008 win in large measure to a lucky (for her) stuff-up by the Australian Motorists, Wall and Berry were the chief beneficiaries of the Greens' meek effort in the last week. Again, nothing wrong with a bit of luck.

The John Howard dog whistle award: Burl Doble and the Australian Motorist Party.

These are the boys who tried to claim that their objections to a mosque in Gungahlin were based on worries about traffic and parking in the northern town centre.

Yeah, right.