Rugby League


Cronulla Sharks v North Queensland Cowboys

Remondis Stadium, Cronulla, Friday 7.40pm (AEST)

Up Next

Raiders fan spits on referee

Video duration

More Rugby League Videos

The Gus & Webby show

Should the NRL impose a salary cap on coaching payments? Phil Gould and Andrew Webster discuss the big issues in League.

Last meeting: Finals Week 1 2013 - Sharks 20 bt Cowboys 18 at Allianz Stadium

Head-to-head: Sharks 21 Cowboys 12

Referees: Gavin Morris, Alan Shortall

TV: Delay, Channel 9 at 9.30pm (live in Brisbane)


Ladbrokes: Cronulla Sharks $2.45, North Queensland Cowboys $1.55

Betfair: Cronulla Sharks $2.60, North Queensland Cowboys $1.59

AAP writes:  If the Cowboys are ever going to win a game in Sydney this year, they are 0-7 so far, surely this is it. With Origin over, now is their chance against last-placed Cronulla even if they have been hit hard by injuries. Who knows what the Sharks will toss up after their past three efforts but injured skipper Paul Gallen (biceps) said now they are out of the finals hunt they aim to win all their remaining home games. With Johnathan Thurston and James Tamou back from Origin, the Cowboys should have too much class. Thurston is swapping his No.7 jersey for No.16 in a tribute to Alex McKinnon in the round dedicated to him. Anthony Tupou is in for Gallen at lock with Andrew Fifita to start at prop.

Key: Whatever happens, or doesn’t happen, on the Cowboys’ plane flight to Sydney. They have to crack it for a win in the Harbour City to keep their finals hopes alive.

Tip: Cowboys

SHARKS: Michael Gordon, Sosaia Feki, Jonathan Wright, Ricky Leutele, Jacob Gagan, Fa’amanu Brown, Jeff Robson, Andrew Fifita, Michael Lichaa, Bryce Gibbs, Luke Lewis, Wade Graham (capt), Anthony Tupou. Interchange: Pat Politoni, Siosaia Vave, Tinirau Arona, Sam Tagataese, Tim Robinson, Tupou Sopoaga (two to be omitted).

COWBOYS: Michael Morgan, Matthew Wright, Tautau Moga, Kane Linnett, Antonio Winterstein, Robert Lui, Johnathan Thurston (capt), Ashton Sims, Rory Kostjasyn, James Tamou, Tariq Sims, Jason Taumalolo, Glenn Hall. Interchange: Ray Thompson, Scott Bolton, Sam Hoare, John Asiata.