Rugby League

License article

Talkin' Sharks, Origin and teams

Show comments
Club in crisis: the sacking of Todd Carney is a new nadir for troubled NRL club.
Club in crisis: the sacking of Todd Carney is a new nadir for troubled NRL club. Photo: Getty Images

That's all the teams for round 17. See you same time next week as we countdown to Origin.


Roosters: 1. Anthony Minichiello (c), 2. Nene McDonald, 3. Mitchell Aubusson, 4. Shaun Kenny-Dowall, 5. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, 6. James Maloney, 7. Mitchell Pearce, 8. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, 9. Jake Friend, 10. Sam Moa, 11. Dylan Napa, 12. Sonny Bill Williams, 13. Frank-Paul Nuuausala, 14. Isaac Liu, 15. Remi Casty 16. Heath L'Estrange, 17. Kane Evans, 18. Siosiua Taukeiaho


Talking Point: Dylan Napa, Nene Macdonald and Kane Evans come in for the Roosters to replace their Origin trio. New Zealand Warriors recruit  Siosiua Tuakieaho is the 18th man.


Bulldogs: 1.Mitch Brown, 2. Corey Thompson, 3. Krisnan Inu, 4. Tim Lafai, 5. Drury Low, 6.  Josh Jackson, 7. Michael Ennis, 8. Aiden Tolman, 9. Damien Cook, 10. James Graham, 11. Greg Eastwood, 12. Tony Williams, 13. Dale Finucane, 14. Sam Kasiano 15. Tim Browne, 16.  Lloyd Perrett, 17 Reni Maitua, 18. Pat O'Hanlon


Talking point: Ennis named in the No.7 jumper to replace Origin half Trent Hodkinson. Aiden Tolman will return from injury


James Shepherd to coach the Sharks this week.


Wests Tigers: 1.Blake Austin, 2. David Nofoaluma, 3. Keith Lulia, 4. Chris Lawrence , 5. Pat Richards, 6. Braith Anasta ,7. Luke Brooks, 8. Martin Taupau, 9. Joel Luani, 10. Keith Galloway, 11. Curtis Sironen, 12. Bodene Thompson, 13. Adam Blair, 14.Dene Halatau, 15 Ava Seumanufagai, 16. Sitaleki Akauola, 17. Jack Buchanan


Talking point: Blake Austin wins the race for Jame Tedesco's no.1 jumper and will play at fullback against his former club. Mitchell Moses has not been named but could still play. Joel Luani will again fill in for Robbie Farah (Origin).

Back to top

Sharks: 1. Michael Gordon, 2. Sosaia Feki, 3. Jonathan Wright, 4. Ricky Leutele 5. Jacob Gagan ,6. Fa'amanu Brown, 7. Jeff Robson, 8. Siosaia Vave , 9. Michael Lichaa, 10.Bryce Gibbs , 11. Anthony Tupou , 12. Wade Graham, 13. Tinirau Arona, 14. Tupou Sopoaga, 15. Sam Tagatasese, 16. Junior Roqica, 17. Tim Robinson, 18. Sione Masima, 20. Pat Politoni


Talking point: Fa’amanu Brown replaces the sacked Todd Carney at five eighth. With Paul Gallen and Luke Lewis  (origin) and Andrew Fifita, Chris Heighington and John Morris (injured) all out, the Sharks have named three debutants in thier 19-man squad - Tim Robinson, Sione Masima and Pat Politoni.


Manly: 1. Brett Stewart, 2. Jorge Taufua, 3. Jamie Lyon, 4. Steve Matai, 5. Peta Hiku, 6. Kieran Foran, 7. Jack Littlejohn, 8. Josh Starling, 9. Matt Ballin, 10. Brenton Lawrence, 11.Jamie Buhrer , 12. Justin Horo, 13. Dunamis Lui , 14. Jesse Sene-Lefao, 15. James Hasson, 16. Tom Symonds ,  17. Jason King


Talking point: Only one change with Jack Littlejohn into the side to replace Daly Cherry-Evans (Origin)


Cowboys: 1 Matthew Wright, 2. Curtis Rona, 3. Tautau Moga, 4 Kane Linnett, 5. Antonio Winterstein, 6 Robert Lui, 7 Michael Morgan, 8. Scott Bolton , 9 Rory Kostjasyn , 10 Ashton Sims, 11. Tariq Sims, 12. Jason Taumalolo, 13. Glenn Hall  14.  Anthony Mitchell,  15. Ethan Lowe,, 16. John Asiata, 17. Sam Hoare, 18. Ben Spina


Talking point: No mucking around for the Cowboys with Tautau Moga named to make his debut in the centres. The other big news is Michael Morgan shifting to halfback to cover JT. Ashton Sims will captain the team. Matthew Wright shift to fullback to cover Morgan.

Who could it be???


Rabbitohs Physiotherapist, Eddie Farah on injured centre Dylan Walker.

“He’s come out of the cast this week and starting to get a little bit of movement in there. So we’ll just keep increasing his activity and getting him in the gym doing some weights and what not. We’ll keep building him up and hopefully get him back in the next couple of weeks.”

Back to top

Still 6 teams left to name their teams...

Ultimate League

Good buys: Ben Lowe and Jason Clark

TBA has made a comeback for the Panthers in the NSW Cup. Remember Tonie Carroll ...

Roosters new buy  Nathan Stapleton named at fullback for the Newtown Jets.

Back to top

Storm pair Jordan McLean and Young Tonumaipea named for Cronulla NSW Cup.


Warriors winger Manu Vatuvei now boasts a first-grade try-scoring feat bettered only by legendary North Sydney and Manly winger Ken Irvine more than 40 years ago.

With his 12th-minute touchdown against Penrith last Sunday, Vatuvei extended his record to 10 tries or more in nine consecutive NRL seasons.

It’s an achievement unmatched by any other player in the game apart from the remarkable Irvine.


Penrith: 1.Matt Moylan, 2. Josh Mansour  3.Dean Whare, 4. Jamal Idris, 5.Kevin Naiqama, 6.Jamie Soward, 7.Peter Wallace (c), 8. Sam McKendry, 9.James Segeyaro, 10.Brent Kite, 11. Sika Manu, 12. Elijah Taylor, 13. Adam Docker, 14.Tyrone Peachey, 15. Jeremy Latimore, 16.Lewis Brown, 17. Nigel Plum, 18. Bryce Cartwright

Talking point: Jamie Soward has been named to play despite a ankle injury.  Kevin Naiqama replaces Isaah Yeo on the wing. Peachey has been named on the bench despite playing the full 80 minutes last week. Yeo is likely to be named in the NSW Residents team

The poll is almost 50-50 on whether Todd Carney should be allowed back in the NRL. What club do you think he should go to?

All the team of the week polls are now up. Make sure you vote for your favourite players.

Back to top