Rugby Union


ACT Brumbies' best Jarrad Butler wins another gong with Canberra Vikings

Jarrad Butler has collected more silverware to cap his first year in Canberra, with the ACT Brumbies loose forward voted player's player for the Canberra Vikings in their inaugural National Rugby Championship season.

Butler was a surprise winner of the Brett Robinson Medal as ACT Brumbies player of the year, then backed up his form to lead the Vikings.

Butler, who joined the Brumbies from the Queensland Reds, was 16 votes ahead of Brumbies teammates Robbie Coleman and Jordan Smiler in the Vikings poll; Coleman and Smiler were awarded best back and best forward respectively.

Having represented Australia's under-20s at the World Cup this year, flanker Rowan Perry capped off a big year by being named Vikings team man.

Vikings coach Dan McKellar said the award-winners had been standouts for the eight-game campaign after which the Vikings finished sixth.

"Jarrad continues to grow as a player," McKellar said. "Over the last 12 months he's gone from starting fresh at a new club to pushing a genuine cause for higher selection.

"I was also impressed with how Jordan and Robbie played and I think Rowan is only going to get better in that open-side position."