Rugby Union

License article

Brumbies v Rebels

Canberra Stadium, Canberra, Saturday 7.40pm (AEST)
Last meeting:
Round 17 2011 - Brumbies 32 bt Rebels 17 in Canberra
Played 2 Brumbies 1 Rebels 1 Drawn 0
Craig Joubert (RSA)
Live, FoxSports 3
TAB Sportsbet:
Brumbies $1.50 Rebels $2.50

Greg Growden writes: Refereeing decisions helped the Brumbies beat the Cheetahs, but a contentious TMO decision messed them up against the Reds. Still you have to admire a team of no-name's ability to continually pester. They're not going to win the title, but they will continue beating rock stars, such as the Rebels.

Up Next

'Twiggy' throws support behind Western Force

Video duration

More Rugby Union Videos

Tahs calling out the Honey Badger

Nick "Honey Badger" Cummins is the man the Waratahs need to stop if they want to defeat the Force.

AAP writes: Ahead of their fortnight away in South Africa, the Brumbies have opted for a gamble in pushing several key players to the bench, including Wallabies prop Ben Alexander and hard-working outside centre Andrew Smith. But it spells trouble if the Rebels' star trio - O'Connor, Beale and Cipriani - can put together another dominant performance in just their second match together. The Brumbies are still two points clear at the top of the Australian conference, but come into the match having lost their last two, while the Rebels pulled off a big upset last week against the highly-fancied Blues. Their line-up is unchanged, so recent form suggests the Brumbies are in for an arm-wrestle.

BRUMBIES: Jesse Mogg, Joe Tomane, Tevita Kuridrani, Pat McCabe, Henry Speight, Christian Lealiifano, Nic White, Fotu Auelua, Michael Hooper, Ben Mowen (c), Sam Carter, Scott Fardy, Dan Palmer, Stephen Moore, Ruaidhri Murphy. Reserves: Anthony Hegarty, Ben Alexander, Peter Kimlin, Ita Vaea, Ian Prior, Robbie Coleman, Andrew Smith.

REBELS: Kurtley Beale, Lachlan Mitchell, Mitch Inman, James O'Connor, Mark Gerrard, Danny Cipriani, Nick Phipps, Gareth Delve (c), Jarrod Saffy, Luke Jones, Hugh Pyle, Al Campbell, Rodney Blake, Ged Robinson, Nic Henderson. Reserves: Luke Holmes, Eddie Aholelei, Michael Lipman, Tim Davidson, Richard Kingi, Julian Huxley, Lloyd Johansson.