Rugby Union

License article

Lions v Bulls

Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg, Sunday 4.10am (AEST)
Last meeting:
Round 6 2011 - Bulls 30 beat Lions 23 in Pretoria
Played 15 Lions 5 Bulls 10 Drawn 0
Garratt Williamson (NZL)
Live, FoxSports 2
TAB Sportsbet:
Lions $4.20 Bulls $1.20

Greg Growden writes: It's that time of the year when the Lions throw the names in a hat and see what comes out. This week, they have made six changes, including putting their World Cup prop CJ van der Linde on the bench. It won't change anything. Another Lions loss is in the offing.

Up Next

Jones backs Narev for ARU top job

Video duration

More Rugby Union Videos

Tahs calling out the Honey Badger

Nick "Honey Badger" Cummins is the man the Waratahs need to stop if they want to defeat the Force.

AAP writes: Most clashes between South African sides are won at the breakdown, and while this game is unlikely to be any different, you can almost already chalk up a win for the Bulls, who are coming off a gritty win over the Crusaders. The Lions have been dreadful to date, thanks in no small part due to a crippling injury crisis, and sit dead last on the Super Rugby ladder. Lions coach John Mitchell made six changes to the team that lost to the Cheetahs, including naming experienced prop CJ van der Linde on the bench in a return from his groin injury. But they are simply band-aid solutions and the Lions are likely to be no match for a mighty Bulls pack led by skipper Pierre Spies.

LIONS: Andries Coetzee, Deon van Rensburg, Jaco Taute, Alwyn Hollenbach, James Kamana, Elton Jantjies, Tian Meyer, Joshua Strauss (c), Derick Minnie, Cobus Grobbelaar, Franco van der Merwe, Stephan Greeff, Pat Cilliers, Callie Visagie, Caylib Oosthuizen. Reserves: Martin Bezuidenhout, Jacobie Adriaanse/CJ van der Linde, Marius Coetzer, Christo le Roux, Ross Cronje, Butch James, Lionel Mapoe.

BULLS: Zane Kirchner, Akona Ndungane, JJ Engelbrecht, Wynand Olivier, Bjorn Basson, Morne Steyn, Francois Hougaard, Pierre Spies (c), Jacques Potgieter, CJ Stander, Juandre Kruger, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Werner Kruger, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Dean Greyling.

Reserves: Bongi Mbonambi, Frik Kirsten, Dewald Potgieter, Arno Botha, Jano Vermaak, Louis Fouche, Johann Sadie