Rugby Union

License article

Sharks v Cheetahs

Mr Price Kings Park, Durban, Sunday 1.05am (AEST)
Last meeting:
Round 13 2012 - Sharks 34 bt Cheetahs 20 at Vodacom Park
Head-to-head: Played 9 Sharks 5 Cheetahs 4
In Durban: Played 4 Sharks 2 Cheetahs 2
Referee: Jaco Peyper (RSA)
Live, FoxSports 2
TAB Sportsbet:
Sharks $1.10 Cheetahs $6.25

Greg Growden writes: The Reds are suddenly big Cheetahs fans. And if there is going to be an upset which could see the Reds sneak into the finals, it is this game. The Sharks are renowned for losing critical encounters.

Up Next

Jones backs Narev for ARU top job

Video duration

More Rugby Union Videos

Tahs' road to ruin ends with Reds

A big win for the Reds against a slackening Tahs side could be their ticket to the finals.

AAP writes: The Reds will be cheering hard for the Cheetahs here and have gained some assistance with destructive Sharks hooker Bismarck du Plessis unlikely to start due to a knee injury. But the Sharks will have Pat Lambie, Willem Alberts and Steven Sykes all back after missing the four-try win over the Bulls. The Cheetahs muscled up against the dour Stormers and have troubled some of the big guns this year. Heinrich Brussow is in good form and the breakdown battle should be huge. Partnering him in the Cheetahs back-row is South African sevens player Boom Prinsloo in Super Rugby debut.

SHARKS: Patrick Lambie, JP Pietersen, Tim Whitehead, Francois Steyn, Lwazi Mvovo, Frederic Michalak, Charl McLeod, Ryan Kankowski, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel (c), Anton Bresler, Jandre Marais, Jannie du Plessis, Craig Burden, Tendai Mtawarira. Reserves: Bismarck du Plessis, Wiehahn Herbst, Pieter-Steph du Toit / Jean Deysel, Willem Alberts, Jacques Botes, Meyer Bosman / Paul Jordaan, Louis Ludik

CHEETAHS: Willie le Roux, Nico Scheepers, Robert Ebersohn, Barry Geel, Philip Snyman, Riaan Smit, Piet van Zyl, Boom Prinsloo, Lappies Labuschagne, Heinrich Brussow, Izak van der Westhuizen, Andries Ferreira, WP Nel, Adriaan Strauss (c), Trevor Nyakane. Reserves: Hercu Liebenberg, Marcel van der Merwe, Waltie Vermeulen, Ashley Johnson, Jacques Coetzee, Sias Ebersohn, Andries Strauss.