Rugby Union

License article

Sharks v Highlanders

ABSA Stadium, Durban 1.05am (AEST)
Last meeting:
Round 6 2010 - Sharks 30 bt Highlanders 16 at Carisbrook Stadium
Played 15 Sharks 9 Highlanders 6
In Durban:
Played 7 Sharks 5 Highlanders 2
Steve Walsh (AUS)
Live, FoxSports 2
TAB Sportsbet:
Sharks $1.50 Highlanders $2.50 Draw $1.00

Greg Growden writes: The Sharks have used the old ploy of trying to convince the referee that the Highlanders are up to no good. Sharks coach John Plumtree wants ref Steve Walsh to not let the Highlanders get away with anything at the breakdown. The ploy may work.

Up Next

Jones backs Narev for ARU top job

Video duration

More Rugby Union Videos

The Breakdown: Crusaders on the move

After an emotional week of rugby, the Reds are set to clash with season favourites the Crusaders, and the Tahs are desperate for a win in Canberra.

AAP writes: The Shark Tank is always a formidable venue but the Highlanders will be incredibly hard to beat following their amazing escape-act against the Cheetahs. Down by 21 points in the second half, the South Islanders some how managed to sneak home 36-33 with a penalty goal on fulltime. The Sharks have been underwhelming this season but should be well rested up after the bye and desperate for a result. They're set to be boosted by the return of impact forwards Ryan Kankowski and Tendai Mtawarira. The hard-working Highlanders pack will take up the fight without suspended English back-rower James Haskell.

SHARKS: Louis Ludik, JP Pietersen, Paul Jordaan, Tim Whitehead, Lwazi Mvovo, Patrick Lambie, Charl McLeod, Keegan Daniel (c), Marcell Coetzee, Jacques Botes, Anton Bresler, Steven Sykes, Jannie du Plessis / Wiehahn Herbst, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira. Reserves: Craig Burden, Wiehahn Herbst / Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Jean Deysel, Ryan Kankowski, Frederic Michalak, Meyer Bosman

HIGHLANDERS: Ben Smith, Siale Piutau, Tamati Ellison, Shaun Treeby, Hosea Gear, Mike Delany, Aaron Smith, Nasi Manu, Doug Tietjens, Adam Thomson, Jarrad Hoeata, Josh Bekhuis, Chris King, Andrew Hore, Jamie Mackintosh (capt). Reserves: Jason Rutledge, Maafu Fia/Jacob Ellison, Culum Retallick, Elliot Dixon, Jimmy Cowan, Chris Noakes, Kurt Baker.