Rugby Union

License article

Stormers v Bulls

Newlands Rugby Stadium, Cape Town, Sunday 3.10am (AEST)
Last meeting:
Round 17 2011 - Bulls 19 bt Stormers 16 at Newlands Rugby Stadium
Played 17 Stormers 8 Bulls 8 drawn 1
In Cape Town:
Played 9 Stormers 4 Bulls 4 drawn 1
Craig Joubert (RSA)
Live, FoxSports 3
Tab Sportsbet:
Stormers $1.57 Bulls $2.30

Greg Growden writes: The Bulls will unveil their new away pink jersey, and the rest of South Africa are cackling themselves. However the Stormers are trying to stop it being a distraction. As a morose Stormers coach Allister Coetzee said when asked if the Bulls jersey was a joke: "There are no jokes in Super Rugby and there is certainly nothing that is a joking matter from our side as we build up to this important game." The Stormers sound like a really jolly mob. Lighten up lads.

Up Next

Jones backs Narev for ARU top job

Video duration

More Rugby Union Videos

Cipriani no big loss for the Rebels

Danny Cipriani is out for a few weeks with a dance floor injury and Sonny Bill Williams is set to run rings around the Waratahs.

AAP writes: As the stats above testify, there's nothing much between the top two South African sides. The pace-setting Stormers have yet to lose in 2012 but this is easily their toughest match to date. They have prepared for a tough battle up front by starting big flanker Rynhardt Elstadt in the back row instead of free-running Nick Koster. The Bulls have stuck by the same team which demolished Queensland 61-8 and produced seven second-half tries. The trick for the visitors will be unlocking the Stormers brick-wall defence.

STORMERS: Joe Pietersen, Gio Aplon, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (capt), Bryan Habana, Peter Grant, Dewaldt Duvenage, Duane Vermeulen, Rynhardt Elstadt, Siya Kolisi, Andries Bekker, Eben Etzebeth, Brok Harris, Tiaan Liebenberg, Steven Kitshoff. Reserves: Deon Fourie, Frans Malherbe, De Kock Steenkamp, Nick Koster, Louis Schreuder, Burton Francis, Gerhard van den Heever.

BULLS: Zane Kirchner, Akona Ndungane, Johann Sadie, Wynand Olivier, Bjorn Basson, Morne Steyn, Francois Hougaard, Pierre Spies (capt), Jacques Potgieter, CJ Stander, Juandré Kruger, Flip van der Merwe, Werner Kruger, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Dean Greyling. Reserves: Bongi Mbonambi, Frik Kirsten, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Arno Botha, Jano Vermaak, Louis Fouce, JJ Engelbrecht.