Rugby Union


Ireland name squad for Six Nations opener

DUBLIN: Ireland coach Declan Kidney on Monday named an extended 32-man squad in preparation for his side's opening Six Nations game against Wales on February 5.

The majority of the squad that trained in the Limerick camp last week have been retained and there are also call ups for Ireland Wolfhound players Denis Hurley, Dan Tuohy, Chris Henry and Rhys Ruddock, all of whom have been capped previously for Ireland.

David Kearney, Eoin O'Malley, Simon Zebo, Brett Wilkinson and Peter O'Mahony are the uncapped players in the squad to join up with the senior Ireland squad in Kildare.

Ireland squad: Rory Best (Ulster), Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Tom Court (Ulster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Stephen Ferris (Ulster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Denis Hurley (Munster), Shane Jennings (Leinster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), David Kearney (Leinster), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Sean O'Brien (Leinster), Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster), Paul O'Connell (Munster), Ronan O'Gara (Munster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Eoin O'Malley (Leinster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Dan Tuohy (Ulster), Paddy Wallace (Ulster), Brett Wilkinson (Connacht), Simon Zebo (Munster)