JavaScript disabled. Please enable JavaScript to use My News, My Clippings, My Comments and user settings.

If you have trouble accessing our login form below, you can go to our login page.

If you have trouble accessing our login form below, you can go to our login page.

Mitchell, Turner make Wallaby squad


Test wingers Drew Mitchell and Lachie Turner return in the Wallabies' train-on squad named on Monday ahead of the four-nation Rugby Championship starting next month.

Coach Robbie Deans' 27-man train-on squad includes 13 NSW Waratahs and comprises players from all Australian Super Rugby franchises except the Queensland Reds who involved in the finals series beginning this week.

Mitchell and Turner were sidelined for much of the Super Rugby season, also missing the Wallabies' June Tests against Scotland and Wales, due to long-term injuries and only returned to action with the Waratahs in recent weeks.

Among uncapped players in the train-on squad are Western Force winger Nick Cummins, Melbourne Rebels centre Mitch Inman and NSW Waratahs prop Paddy Ryan.

Veteran Test lock Nathan Sharpe, who has put his retirement on hold to play in the Rugby Championship, has been rested from the squad's three-day camp in Sydney from July 24.

Among injured players not considered for the squad camp were Wallabies captain James Horwill, No.8 Wycliff Palu and utility backs James O'Connor and Christian Lealiifano.

Wallabies train-on squad: Kurtley Beale (Melbourne Rebels), Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs), Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs), Lachie Turner (NSW Waratahs), Nick Cummins (Western Force), Cooper Vuna (Melbourne Rebels), Rob Horne (NSW Waratahs), Mitch Inman (Melbourne Rebels), Pat McCabe (Brumbies), Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs), Berrick Barnes (NSW Waratahs), Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), Nic White (Brumbies), Ben Mowen (Brumbies), David Pocock (Western Force), Michael Hooper (Brumbies), Dave Dennis (NSW Waratahs), Kane Douglas (NSW Waratahs), Cadeyrn Neville (Melbourne Rebels), Hugh Pyle (Melbourne Rebels), Sitaleki Timani (NSW Waratahs), Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs), Benn Robinson (NSW Waratahs), Ben Alexander (Brumbies), Paddy Ryan (NSW Waratahs), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Tatafu Polota-Nau (NSW Waratahs).


Rugby Championship 2015

Round 1
Fri, 17 JulTimes shown AEST
NZL 39vs ARG 18 Stats
Sat, 18 JulTimes shown AEST
AUS 24vs SAF 20 Stats
View All Fixtures
Round 2
Sun, 26 JulTimes shown AEST
SAF 20vs NZL 27 Stats
ARG 9vs AUS 34 Stats
View All Fixtures
Round 3
Sat, 08 AugTimes shown AEST
AUS 0vs NZL 0 20:05ANZ
Sun, 09 AugTimes shown AEST
SAF 0vs ARG 0 01:05Growthpoint Kings Park
View All Fixtures
Rugby Championship 2015
Overall standings
Team P W L D +/- Pts
Australia 2 2 0 0 29 9
New Zealand 2 2 0 0 28 9
South Africa 2 0 2 0 -11 2
Argentina 2 0 2 0 -46 0
View all

Follow Us on Facebook

Featured advertisers