Rugby Union

License article

Ryan chasing first Wallaby cap

Rising NSW prop Paddy Ryan will continue his quest for a first Test cap after being named in the Wallabies squad to play South Africa and Argentina away during the next three weeks.

Ryan joins Western Force winger Nick Cummins as the only two uncapped players in the 28-man squad that leaves for South Africa tomorrow morning.

Five-eighth Quade Cooper was last night ruled out of the two games remaining in the Rugby Championship after scans revealed a small chip of cartilage in his right knee.

But in better news for the Wallabies, hard-hitting lock Sitaleki Timani, Reds winger Dom Shipperley and Brumbies hooker Stephen Moore will all travel and are expected to be available for the first match in Pretoria on September 29.

Berrick Barnes and Kurtley Beale are expected to fill the roles of fullback and five-eighth, while Reds playmaker Mike Harris gives coach Robbie Deans another option if necessary.

Harris and Reds teammates Ben Tapuai and Rob Simmons will stay in Brisbane to play in their club grand finals and join the squad in Johannesburg next Tuesday.

Wallabies squad to tour South Africa and Argentina: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Kurtley Beale, Digby Ioane, Dominic Shipperley, Nick Cummins, Ben Tapuai, Anthony Fainga'a, Pat McCabe, Berrick Barnes, Mike Harris, Nick Phipps, Brett Sheehan, Scott Higginbotham, Radike Samo, Michael Hooper, Liam Gill, Dave Dennis, Rob Simmons, Nathan Sharpe, Kane Douglas, Sitaleki Timani, Ben Alexander, Paddy Ryan, James Slipper, Benn Robinson, Saia Fainga'a, Stephen Moore, Tatafu Polota Nau.