Click here to submit your sports results for The Canberra Times
License article

ACT Meteors coach Andrew Dawson to resign at end of month

ACT Meteors coach Andrew Dawson says it might be "ambitious", but Canberra needs both a Women's Big Bash League and Big Bash League team.

After 15 years of giving up his weekends and travelling around the country, Dawson will resign at the end of the month to get some work-life balance - and hopefully become the Queanbeyan River stand-up paddleboard champion.

Dawson's decision continues the spate of recent resignations in women's sport in Canberra and was less than a week after Capital Football chief executive Heather Reid and Canberra Capitals coach Carrie Graf both announced they will step aside.

"I think currently the space we're in is healthy, but you've got to ambitious and down the track you'd like a joint club of WBBL and BBL based in the ACT," he said.

Dawson said there had been a number of highlights from his 15-year involvement with Cricket ACT.

He coached the under-19 men's team that consisted of Australian off spinner Nathan Lyon, Jason Behrendorff and Ryan Carters.


Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year Alex Ross praised the role Dawson played in his development after winning a gong at Cricket Australia's Allan Border Medal night.

He was in charge of the Meteors when they upset the NSW Breakers in the semi-final of the precursor to the Women's Big Bash League last summer.

"If I was married I think I would've had to have a very good divorce lawyer by now," Dawson said.

"It's time to get a bit more balance back ... have a few more weekends to myself and I'm very keen to master the stand-up paddleboard as well - it's on my bucket list to be the Queanbeyan River stand-up paddleboard champion."

Meanwhile, the NSW have taken the upper hand in their Futures League game with the ACT Comets at Manuka Oval on Monday.

The visitors finished the day at 8-388 with Nicholas Larkin top scoring with 163.

Mitchell Phelps (3-67) and Cameron Suidgeest (3-62) were the pick of the Comets bowlers.