Click here to submit your sports results for The Canberra Times

ACT Premier Cricket: Ginninderra breaks through for first win

A Sam Gaskin-inspired Ginninderra has broken through for its first win of the 2015-16 ACT Premier Cricket season.

The Tigers beat South Coast in the regional Konica Minolta Twenty 20 Cup back on October 3 but had not tasted any joy in their Douglas Cup or Gallop Cup campaigns until Saturday's triumph over fellow battlers Tuggeranong Valley at Kippax No.1 Oval.

Resuming at a perilous 4-42 in pursuit of Tuggeranong's total of 162, Gaskin stepped up to guide the Tigers to a four-wicket win. Ginninderra went on to declare at 8-271 after Gaskin reached 100 not out.

First-ranked Wests-UC made light work of ANU at ANU North Oval.

ANU's batting lineup looked frail, as they slipped to 3-41 before Lakshmn Shivakkumar (34) and Aiden Blizzard (67) combined for a 61-run stand.

However, Tom Engelbrecht removed both batsmen before tearing through the rest of the order to finish with 5-63 as the students fell 104 runs short of victory.


Eastlake was always going to do it tough chasing down Weston Creek Molonglo's mammoth total of 5-472 (declared).

Eastlake were guilty of wasting starts on Saturday, with five of their top six batsmen passing 35 but only one managing a half-century.

Paul O'Malveney made 78 in a futile cause, as Mark Bennett (3-35) and Mac Wright (3-70) combined to wrap up the innings for 313 to hand WCM the win on first innings points by 159 runs.

The battle between fourth-ranked North Canberra Gungahlin and fifth-placed Queanbeyan was decidedly uneven.

Needing just six runs on Saturday to surpass Queanbeyan's first innings total of 123,

British import George Rhodes's 75 and 49 from Ben Taylor guided Norths to 218. The one bright spot for Queanbeyan in the innings was captain Veke Dukoski's four wickets.

Queanbeyan finished at 2-44 in its second innings.