Click here to submit your sports results for The Canberra Times

Cricket: Comets leg-spinner Mac Wright on fast-track at Cricket Australia PRO camp

ACT Comets all-rounder Mac Wright is aiming to secure a state rookie contract next season and is fine-tuning his skills at Cricket Australia's inaugural PRO camp.

The 17-year-old is among 20 of the country's most promising young players who have been invited to the four-day talent combine in Brisbane.

The players have been nominated by the National Selection Panel of Greg Chappell, Troy Cooley and Graeme Hick and state talent managers based on performances from international and national tournaments.

Topics covered during the camp include skills sessions, media training and education sessions to give players an idea of what they can expect at the elite level.

For Wright, who lives in Merimbula on the NSW south coast and travels to Canberra every weekend for club cricket, his goal is to become a professional cricketer.

"Getting a rookie contract would mean the world to me, making that next step and trying to make a career out of cricket," Wright said.


"These camps are really good to check in with different coaches to see how your technical stuff is going.

"They can give you stuff to go away and work on because I'm in an isolated area, it's hard for coaches to see me every week."

Known predominantly as a leg-spinner, Wright demonstrated his all-round ability with a fighting half-century for Weston Creek Molonglo in last weekend's ACT Premier Cricket Douglas Cup grand final against Wests/UC.

Wright scored 89 in the second innings after coming to the crease with Weston Creek in trouble at 6-61 to help them post 232.

However, Wests/UC lost only one wicket before the game was called off with eight runs needed for an outright victory.

"We thought it would be a bit closer finish and thought the pitch might deteriorate, but it held together pretty well," Wright said.

"It was a great season and they're a great bunch of lads, so nothing to complain about.

"I was really happy to compile an innings and I haven't been able to do that all year, so I was glad it came together in the end and give us a chance for victory."

The toughest transition for Wright this season with his bowling has been switching between Twenty20, one-day and two-day formats.

"I've found it a bit hard with a lot of one-day and T20 stuff at the start of the year bowling a lot flatter and with the two-day stuff, getting a bit of loop," Wright said.

"Getting the stock ball consistent is something I really want to work on."

Wright's Weston Creek teammate Mark Bennett claimed the top honour in the first-grade competition, winning the DB Robin Medal on Wednesday night.

Bennett took the award with 20 votes ahead of Queanbeyan opener Henry Hunt and George Rhodes, both on 17.

Mitchell Phelps was awarded the Peter Solway Medal given to the best Comets player. He was just one vote clear of Tom Rogers, while Angela Reakes took home the Bronwyn Calver Medal for the ACT Meteors' best ahead of Erin Osborne.

2015-16 Cricket ACT Awards Winners

* Bronwyn Calver Medal (Meteors): Angela Reakes (74 votes), Erin Osborne (64), Lea Tahuhu (61)

* Peter Solway Medal (Comets): Mitchell Phelps (75 votes), Tom Rogers (74), Matt Condon (43)

* DB Robin Medal (Club Male Player): Mark Bennett (20 votes), Henry Hunt (17), George Rhodes (17)

* SJ Moore Medal (Club Female Player): Zoe Cooke (42 votes), Sarah Staples (21), Kirsten Burrowes (19)

* Billy Floros Medal (Rockets indoor): Matthew Floros (133), Luke Ryan (126), Timmy Floros (111)

* Darren Richards Medal (Club Indoor): Brock Winkler (110), Vinesh Bennett (109), Wade Burrows (90)

* Konica Minolta Twenty20 Player of the Year: Michael Spaseski, Eastlake 165 runs at an average of 55 and 4 wickets at 15.5

* Women's Batting award: Zoe Cooke, Wests/UC - 688 runs at an average of 137.6

* Women's Bowling award: Helena Kreis, average of 7.1 and 29 wickets

* First grade batting aggregate award: John Rogers, Weston Creek Molonglo

* First grade leading wicket-taker: Ben Oakley

* Meteors Rising Star Award: Jessica Howard

* Luke Bush Rising Star Award: Ben Taylor

* ACT Rockets Batter of the Year: Timmy Floros

* ACT Rockets Bowler of the Year: Vinesh Bennett

* ACT Meteors Batter of the Year: Katie Mack – 243 runs at 43.60.

* ACT Meteors Bowler of the Year: Angela Reakes – 10 wickets at 17.70.

* ACT Comets Batsman of the Year: Jono Dean 303 runs at 49.00

* ACT Comets Bowler of the Year: Cameron Sudigeest – 18 wickets at 31.33

* Club Volunteer of the Year: Ray Hatch, Weston Creek Molonglo

* Greg Lord Administrator of the Year: Andrew Kopras – ACT Umpires Association

* Lords Taverners Spirit of Cricket Award: North Canberra Gungahlin

* Premier Cricket Team of the Year: Darren Richards (Western District UC), Henry Hunt (Queanbeyan),John Rogers (Weston Creek Molonglo), Amit Sharma (Tuggeranong), Mark Bennett (Weston Creek Molonglo), Sam Taylor (Weston Creek Molonglo), Ryan Maskell (wk) (Eastlake), Ben Taylor (North Canberra Gungahlin), Ben Oakley (Western District UC), Guy Gillespie (Queanbeyan), Joe Ashmore (Eastlake).

* Club Championship: Western District UC.