James Day, Naomi Evans claim Canberra's top hockey honours

Old Canberrans' James Day is the best-and-fairest men's hockey player in the nation's capital and while he pipped Central's Daniel Hotchkis for Hockey ACT's top male gong, Hotchkis kept him out of the Capital League 1 team of the year.

Day claimed the Brophy Medal on Tuesday night, while St Patrick's Naomi Evans won the McKay Medal as the best female player.

While Day edged out  Hotchkis for the Brophy, it was the latter who had the last laugh pipping him for a spot in the team of the year and also making it through to Saturday's grand final against Goulburn at the National Hockey Centre in Lyneham.

Just two votes separated the pair, with Day getting a maximum five votes in the final round to jump to 48 – two more than Hotchkis, who didn't poll in the final round.

The Brophy uses a 5-3-1 voting system, decided by club delegates after each game, while each team submits their own team of the year from which the final XI is compiled.

Day also took home the outstanding under-21 player, following up from being named Capital League 1's most improved player last season after making his Australian Hockey League debut for the Canberra Lakers in 2013.


While Day missed out on the men's team of the year, there was no such omission for Evans.

Like Kookaburras striker Glenn Turner, Evans hails from Goulburn.

Not only was she named this year's McKay medallist, she was also the women's leading scorer with 19 and was picked at right inner in the team of the year.

Evans is going for back-to-back titles in this weekend's grand final against Central.

Central coach Rob Apps know how dangerous she can be.

"She's a first-class player and they're the people you need to monitor," he said.

"They've got Laura Gray who's a handy striker too, she can score goals from any opportunity.

"Naomi is someone we'll definitely be keeping a close eye on. We need to keep our defensive structure sound."

While Tuggeranong Vikings finished minor premier, Apps felt St Pat's had still been the team to beat given its  experience.

He said after a slow start they'd gradually built their season towards the finals and were peaking at the right time.

Apps said experience was probably the only weakness in Tuggeranong's game and its straight-sets exit from this finals campaign would stand it in good stead in the future.

"I'm surprised [Tuggeranong] aren't there because they were the dominant team all year, but finals seems to change the situation dramatically," Apps said.

"I look at Tuggeranong, they're a very young team so I put it down to experience. If they stay together as a group, they'll be a much better team for the finals next year."



McKay Medal: Naomi Evans (St Pat's)

Errol Bill coach of the year cup: Jason Toole (Tuggeranong Vikings)

Peta Gallagher (top goal scorer): Naomi Evans, 19 goals (St Pats)

Team of the Year                            

Goalkeeper                       Peta Sutherland (ANU)

Left back                              Tamika Bostock (Tuggeranong Vikings )

Right Back                           Samantha Economos (Tuggeranong Vikings)

Left half                               Tina Taseska (Central)

Right half                             Jess Smith (ANU)

Centre half                         Shelley Watson (ANU)

Left inner                            Naomi Evans (t Pats)

Right inner                          Kalindi Commerford (Tuggeranong Vikings)

Left wing                             Meredith Bone (Uni of Canberra)

Right wing                          Laura Gray (St Pats)

Centre forward                Jenna Cartwright (ANU)


Brophy Medal: James Day (Old Canberrans)

Coach of the year: Phil Jorgensen (Central)

Deane/McLennan (Top goal scorer): Matthew Hotchkis, 32 goals (Central)

Team of the year                            

Goalkeeper                       Malcolm Beer (St Pats)

Left back                              Aaron Kershaw (Goulburn)

Right back                           Adam Baxter (Wests)

Left half                               Seyi Onitiri (Old Canberrans)

Right half                             Pat Keir (St Pats)

Centre half                         Todd Devlin (Goulburn)

Left inner                            Richie Howson (Central)

Right inner                          Daniel Hotchkis (Central)

Left wing                             Troy Sutherland (Central)

Right wing                          Matt Hotchkis (Central)

Centre forward                Glenn Turner (Goulburn)