Click here to submit your sports results for The Canberra Times

Motorsport: Nine-time Formula 1 winner Mark Webber given Canberra kart track honour

Queanbeyan motorsport product Mark Webber will become the only Australian racing driver to have a track named in his honour.

The Canberra Kart Racing Club will on April 29 officially re-name their Fairbairn Park Circuit, "Circuit Mark Webber", in honour of the 2015 FIA world endurance champion and nine-time Formula One grand prix winner.

Webber joins other successful Formula One drivers Michael Schumacher (Germany), Fernando Alonso (Spain) and Alain Prost (France), who have had tracks named in their honour.

The ceremony will take place in conjunction with the Canberra Kart Racing Club hosting the NSW State Karting Championships from April 29 to May 1.

Webber took up motor racing at the age of 14 at the Fairbairn Park track and won the NSW state title in 1993 on his way to making his name on the world stage.

The renaming of the circuit is the first part of a $3.6 million development for the site, which will include extending the length of the track and installing state of the art viewing and club facilities.