Click here to submit your sports results for The Canberra Times

Queanbeyan, Canberra claim Bowls ACT pennant titles

Is Weston Creek becoming the best man and never the groom?

It would seem so after finishing runner-up to Queanbeyan 63-56 in the men's grade one pennant final at Canberra Bowls Club on Sunday.

While the Weston men couldn't capitalise on their minor premiership, Canberra didn't waste their favouritism in the women's first grade, beating Belconnen 39-33 in the decider, which was also played at Canberra.

It was the first time the men's and women's grand finals were played at the same venue since unification in 2004 and it was a full house despite the cold conditions.

Queanbeyan might have finished the home-and-away season in fourth, but they were the best team when it mattered.

They won two of the three rinks, with Sean Robertson leading his team to a 23-14 victory over Commonwealth Games bowler Adam Jeffery and Scott Dagwell's four knocking off Andrew Howie 26-17.


Andrew Ashlin was the Creekers' only winning skipper, beating Peter Daly 25-14.

In the women's decider, Canberra won both rinks with Mina Bannerman leading her rink to an 18-16 victory over Helena Megee, while Robyn Moxon's four was too good for Nicole Mengel's, 21-17.


Grade one – men: Queanbeyan 63 bt Weston Creek 56; women: Canberra 39 bt Belconnen 33.

Grade two – men:  Belconnen 56 bt Weston Creek 54; women: Weston Creek 52 bt Queanbeyan 22.

Grade three – men: Tuggeranong 61 bt Weston Creek 52.

Grade four – men: Weston Creek 60 bt Belconnen 48.

Grade five – men: Canberra City 64 bt Tuggeranong 46.

Grade six – men: Tuggeranong 56 bt Weston Creek 47.

Grade seven – men: Canberra City 55 bt Tuggeranong 50.

Good time to be a champion

While Helensvale is still a hike for Canberra bowlers, it's a lot closer than Scotland.

With the Queensland club winning the hosting rights for the World Champion of Champions events for the next two years, it's a great time to be the ACT champ of champs.

The Gold Coast is fast becoming the home of Australian bowls, hosting the next five Australian Opens, as well as the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

ACT's 2014 champ of champs won't be decided until August, with the national title to be decided in Taren Point, NSW, in October.