Click here to submit your sports results for The Canberra Times
License article

Tomane and Palmer to make Wallabies debut

ACT Brumbies Dan Palmer and Joseph Tomane will make their Test debut for the Wallabies on Tuesday night after being named in the team to take on Scotland at Newcastle.
And flanker Michael Hooper could join them with the 21-year-old being included on the bench as a back-up No7 to captain David Pocock.
The Wallabies have named five players in the starting XV to get their first internationals caps.
Tomane and Palmer will be joined by Dave Dennis, Michael Harris and Luke Morahan.
Pocock will become the 79th man to lead Australia in a Test match.
Brumbies Stephen Moore is the starting hooker while Ben Alexander, Hooper and Pat McCabe are on the bench.
“We looked at all the options around each position, in terms of the relative workloads each of the players have already had this year, the amount of preparation we were able to have with them before the game, and their ability to back up off a tight turnaround, before settling on the final combination,” Wallabies coach Robbie Deans said.
“With another Test to follow, four days after Scotland, and given the injuries that we’ve had to deal with  around assembly, it wasn’t practical just to base the side for Newcastle around the players who have been able to be with us for all of this last week.
‘‘We’ve effectively had to select two combinations to win two Test matches at the same time, although we will obviously assess how we come out of Tuesday night’s game before finalising our line-up for the first Wales Tour match in Brisbane on Saturday night.”
James Horwill, Quade Cooper and Salesi Ma’afu will all be released from the national training squad in the morning.
Melbourne Rebels lock Hugh Pyle and Brumbies fullback Jesse Mogg are the other training squad members who won’t be assembling in Newcastle.
Brumbies captain Ben Mowen joined the squad last night as cover for Western Force No 8 Ben McCalman.

Wallabies team to play Scotland in Newcastle on Tuesday
15. Luke Morahan            (Queensland Reds)
14. Joe Tomane                (Brumbies)
13. Anthony Fainga’a       (Queensland Reds)
12. Mike Harris                  (Queensland Reds)
11. Digby Ioane                 (Queensland Reds)
10. Berrick Barnes            (NSW Waratahs)
9. Will Genia                      (Queensland Reds)
8. Scott Higginbotham    (Queensland Reds)
7. David Pocock                (captain, Western Force)
6. Dave Dennis                  (NSW Waratahs)
5. Nathan Sharpe              (Western Force)
4. Sitaleki Timani              (NSW Waratahs)
3. Dan Palmer                    (Brumbies)
2. Stephen Moore            (Brumbies)
1. James Slipper                (Queensland Reds)


16. Saia Fainga’a              (Queensland Reds)
17. Ben Alexander            (Brumbies)
18. Rob Simmons              (Queensland Reds)
19. Michael Hooper         (Brumbies)
20. Nick Phipps                 (Melbourne Rebels)
21. Pat McCabe                (Brumbies)
22. Adam Ashley Cooper (NSW Waratahs)