Click here to submit your sports results for The Canberra Times

Tyro leggie picked for Manuka one-dayer

NSW has named talented leg-spinning prospect Adam Zampa for Sunday's crucial one-day clash against Queensland at Manuka Oval.

Considered one of the rising stars of the spin scene, Zampa made his first-class debut for NSW in this week's Sheffield Shield outright victory over the Bulls - finishing with five wickets, including 3-17 in the second innings.

Blues skipper Stephen O'Keefe, a left-arm off-spinner, said the 20-year-old from Shellharbour had enormous potential and could have a serious impact for NSW and even Australia.

''I thought Adam Zampa bowled beautifully on debut - those last three wickets are always hard to get and he did that,'' O'Keefe said.

''He cracked open the partnership of [Chris] Hartley and [Nathan] Reardon in the first innings, so I think he could be something. There's a lot of potential there for Australian cricket and NSW cricket in the future.''

Zampa said he took great confidence from his successful first-class debut.


''In the first innings I was quite happy with the way I bowled, getting Hartley out and Reardon out when I did was [at a] pretty important stage of the game,'' he said. ''[On Thursday] I did my job, got out the tail.''

O'Keefe will captain the side, which includes former Test representatives Brad Haddin, Doug Bollinger and Steve Smith.

The Blues drew first blood against Queensland when they secured a nail-biting three-wicket win in the Sheffield Shield game, which ended on Friday.

But they are desperate for points in the shorter format. Having won just one game, they sit in last place on the table.

Left-handed batsman Ben Rohrer replaces wicketkeeper-batsman David Dawson in the only change in the team, which was belted by 110 runs by the Bulls in Brisbane last week. Play starts at 10.30am on Sunday. AAP


For the one-day match against Queensland at Manuka Oval on Sunday: Stephen O'Keefe (captain), Sean Abbott, Doug Bollinger, Brad Haddin, Moises Henriques, Scott Henry, Josh Lalor, Nic Maddinson, Peter Nevill, Ben Rohrer, Steve Smith, Adam Zampa.