Click here to submit your sports results for The Canberra Times

World Twenty20 2016: Team by team guide, when and how to watch

Show comment


World ranking: 5

Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill, Andrew Tye, Shane Watson, Adam Zampa

Key player: Adam Zampa. There are plenty of damaging batsmen in the squad but the sole frontline spinner will be crucial to Australia's hopes of restricting their opponents to a reasonable total.

Pool opponents: New Zealand, Qualifier, Pakistan, India

Best finish: Finalists (2010)


Why they can win it: A batting order that is deep and in form, having recently hauled in a target of 205 against South Africa to complete the nation's highest-ever T20 chase.

Betting: $6


World ranking: 6

Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid. Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey

Key player: Jos Buttler. Struck the quickest century in England's ODI history last November and top-scored in both of England's recent T20s against South Africa.

Pool opponents: West Indies, South Africa, Qualifier, Sri Lanka

Best finish: Winners (2010)

Why they can win it: Australian coach Trevor Bayliss has drilled in a new-found sense of aggression. The squad has plenty of match-winners with bat and ball.

Betting: $8


World ranking: 1

MS Dhoni (capt), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh

Key player: Virat Kohli. The combative superstar was named player of the series in the 2014 tournament after scoring 319 runs, more than any other batsman had managed at a World T20.

Pool opponents: New Zealand, Pakistan, Qualifier, Australia

Best finish: Winners (2007)

Why they can win it: Clear favourites with the vast majority of pundits, they boast home-ground advantage and a settled first-choice XI full of superstars.

Betting: $3


World ranking: 4

Kane Williamson (capt), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

Key player: Trent Boult. Was the leading wicket-taker in last year's ODI World Cup alongside Mitchell Starc and knows the conditions well, having played for IPL side Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Pool opponents: India, Australia, Pakistan, Qualifier

Best finish: Semi-finalists (2007)

Why they can win it: Brendon McCullum is notably missing but it is a well-balanced squad. Earlier this year Martin Guptill and new skipper Kane Williamson shared the highest-ever partnership in the history of T20 internationals.

Betting: $12


World ranking: 7

Shahid Afridi (capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Imad Wasim, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Amir, Mohammed Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Sami, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shoaib Malik, Sharjeel Khan, Umar Akmal, Wahab Riaz

Key player: Mohammad Amir. Spin is expected to decide plenty of matches but the paceman, playing his first major tournament since returning from a spot-fixing ban, is one to watch.

Pool opponents: Qualifier, India, New Zealand, Australia

Best finish: Winners (2009)

Why they can win it: Presuming they receive government clearance to take part, Afridi's side should be a contender. Unpredictable but on their day unbeatable.

Betting: $13


World ranking: 3

Faf du Plessis (capt), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn, David Wiese

Key player: Imran Tahir. The veteran legspinner was the leading wicket-taker at the 2014 tournament and looks more than capable of topping the list again.

Pool opponents: England, Qualifier, West Indies, Sri Lanka

Best finish: Semi-finalists (2009, 2014)

Why they can win it: The prospect of leaving either Hashim Amla or Quinton de Kock out of their best XI highlights the batting depth in their squad.

Betting: $6


World ranking: 8

Angelo Mathews (capt), Lasith Malinga, Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Shehan Jayasuriya, Chamara Kapugedara, Nuwan Kulasekera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Dasun Shanaka, Milinda Siriwardena, Jeffrey Vandersay

Key player: Sachithra Senanayake. Arguably their best bowler in the squad and fiercely competitive, having 'mankaded' Buttler in an ODI in 2014.

Pool opponents: Qualifier, West Indies, England, South Africa.

Best finish: Winners (2014)

Why they can win it: Dangerous if they click this month but the defending champions have had a poor lead-up, with Lasith Malinga stepping down as captain and selectors sacked.

Betting: $15


World ranking: 2

Darren Sammy (capt), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor

Key player: Chris Gayle. Mahela Jayawardene is the only batsman to have scored more World T20 runs than the Jamaican slugger, who has played only T20 cricket during the past year.

Pool opponents: England, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Qualifier

Best finish: Winners (2012)

Why they can win it: The lack of regular internationals means that franchise-based leagues are the best way for players to gain T20 experience. No other squad features so many guns for hire.

Betting: $9


Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Ireland, Netherlands, Oman, Scotland, Zimbabwe


Fox Sports will air all 35 matches while Nine will broadcast all matches featuring Australia as well as the finals.

Australia v New Zealand - Friday March 18, 8.30pmAustralia v - TBD - Tuesday March 22, 1amAustralia v Pakistan - Friday March 25, 8.30pmAustralia v India - Monday March 28, 1am

Semi-final 1: Thursday March 31, 12.30amSemi-final 2: Friday April 1, 12.30amFinal: Sunday April 3, 11.30pm


1 comment