JavaScript disabled. Please enable JavaScript to use My News, My Clippings, My Comments and user settings.

If you have trouble accessing our login form below, you can go to our login page.

If you have trouble accessing our login form below, you can go to our login page.

'Diving' label sticks to Jeronimo

Date
Controversy over diving continues to surround Adelaide's Jeronimo Neumann.

Controversy over diving continues to surround Adelaide's Jeronimo Neumann. Photo: Getty Images

Adelaide United striker Jeronimo Neumann's cards appear to have been marked as a diver by A-League referees.

Neumann was denied a penalty on Thursday night in Adelaide's 1-0 loss to Brisbane Roar when brought down in the box.

Instead, referee Adam Kersey issued a yellow card to the Argentine striker in a simulation ruling which infuriated Adelaide.

Neumann was infamously labelled a cheat by Wellington Phoenix captain Andrew Durante for alleged diving in a round-four clash in October.

The Reds recruit was cleared by Football Federation Australia but Adelaide coach John Kosmina has hinted a diving stigma remains on Neumann.

Asked if referees were conscious of the October diving controversy when now judging Neumann, Kosmina replied: "Funnily enough, that has been suggested to me by someone that knows much more about refereeing than I do."

Kosmina diplomatically declined to elaborate, but said Neumann should have been awarded a penalty against the Roar.

"Looking at the replay, I think he got clipped so that has to be a pen [penalty] doesn't it," Kosmina said.

"I think he got fouled. He was in the box, replays show he got fouled, he certainly didn't dive – he stretched for the ball and he got his foot stood on.

"So if it's in the box it has to be a pen, doesn't it."

Adelaide, having lost consecutive games, hosts Sydney FC on New Year's Eve.

AAP

Related Coverage

Please select the fixtures type

 
Featured advertisers