Belconnen Magpies youngster Isaac Taylor claims Mulrooney Medal

Belconnen Magpies youngster Isaac Taylor claims Mulrooney Medal

They've dominated the AFL Canberra competition from start to finish, and the Mulrooney medal was no different for the Belconnen Magpies.

Young midfielder Isaac Taylor capped a fine season by winning the medal count with 21 votes, comfortably ahead of teammate James Bennett (14) and Tuggeranong's Chris Robinson (13).

Isaac Taylor took at AFL Canberra's top gong.

Isaac Taylor took at AFL Canberra's top gong.Credit:Graham Tidy

The Magpies are undefeated in 16 games this year with a percentage of over 350, and will start hot favourites in Saturday's grand final against Queanbeyan Tigers at Manuka Oval.

Belconnen also took out the club championship, with their reserve grade team also booking a grand final berth against Tuggeranong, while Chris York was first grade's leading goalkicker with 80 majors.


Magpies first-grade mentor Jeremy Rowe was also adjudged coach of the year, with Molonglo Juggernauts' Fiona Van de Made taking out the women's gong.

Rowe said he would encourage the likes of Taylor, 21, if they wished to test themselves at a higher level elsewhere.

But he insisted the Magpies can provide them with the development they need and backed the AFL Canberra competition to improve.

"He [Taylor] is a Belconnen junior and has definitely had a breakout season this year," Rowe said.

"He played in the representative side as well, so people are aware of him.

"We'd like to think we create an environment for them if they do stay at Belconnen, they get the opportunity to improve as players and won't stagnate.

"But there's always encouragement if they want to go and test themselves at a higher level, the club's very pro the guys having a crack, whether that's in Canberra somewhere or elsewhere."

The women's best and fairest was won by the Juggernauts' Zoe Skyrianos, with Tuggeranong Hawk Kathryn Ghiradello (43) crowned the leading goalkicker.

After three years as the North-East Australian Football League's best and fairest, the Mulrooney Medal was reinstated as AFL Canberra's highest honour after a hiatus last season.

Three men were inducted into the AFL Canberra Hall of Fame: Keith Schow, Keith Heales and Brian Quade.