Canberra's Paralympic athletes aim for Games glory

Canberra's Paralympic athletes aim for Games glory

A group a nine athletes from Canberra will bolster the Australian Paralympic team for London after they were selected in a 36-strong athletics squad this morning.

A combination of Australian Institute of Sport and ACT Academy of Sport a will launch his bid for Paralympic success when the Games begin on August 29.

Shot put champion Louise Ellery is one of Canberra's Paralympic medal hopes.

Shot put champion Louise Ellery is one of Canberra's Paralympic medal hopes.Credit:Graham Tidy

The team is headlined by wheelchair raicing legend Kurt Fearnley who is aiming to become the first athlete in history to win the wheelchair marathon at three consecutive Paralympics.

Louise Ellery will be one of Canberra’s best medal hopes.


Ellery holds the world record for seated shotput and won a gold medal at the Commonwealth Games two years ago.

Ellery was in a car crash 14 years ago, but has made a remarkable comeback to be the leading athlete in her F32 class.

Sprinter Scott Reardon will go to his first Olympics also return to the Paralympics 10 years ago after losing his right leg when his shoelace got caught in a tractor.

He didn’t start running until seven years later

Reardon will compete in the 100m and 200m at the Paralympic Games, as well as the 4x100m relay.

Athletics is Australia’s most successful sport at the Paralympics, winning 145 gold, 139 silver and 131 bronze since it started in 1960.

2012 Australian Paralympic Athletics Team

(AIS and ACTAS athletes in bold)

Angela Ballard – Camperdown, NSW
Carlee Beattie – Warwick, QLD
Georgia Beikoff – Valentine, NSW
Damien Bowen – Queanbeyan, NSW
Matthew Cameron – Wynnum, QLD
Kelly Cartwright – Geelong, VIC
Gabriel Cole – Malvern, SA
Richard Colman – Geelong, VIC
Christie Dawes – Merewether, NSW
Madison de Rozario – Success, WA
Rachael Dodds – Hawthorne, QLD
Jodi Elkington – Wodonga, VIC
Louise Ellery – McKellar, ACT
Kurt Fearnley – Newcastle, NSW
Jessica Gallagher – Geelong, VIC
Sam Harding – Belconnen, ACT
Todd Hodgetts – Launceston, TAS
Madeleine Hogan – Ferntree Gully, VIC
Jake Lappin – Kilmore, VIC
Rosemary Little – West Pennant Hills, NSW
Rheed McCracken – Bundaberg, QLD
Richard Nicholson – Melba, ACT
Evan O’Hanlon – Hunters Hill, NSW
Katy Parrish – South Yarra, VIC
Simon Patmore – Carseldine, QLD
Kristy Pond – Baulkham Hills, NSW
Kath Proudfoot – Macgregor, ACT
Scott Reardon – Temora, NSW
Michael Roeger – Langhorne Creek, SA
Stephanie Schweitzer – Baulkham Hills, NSW
Brad Scott – Bruce, WA
Russell Short – Glen Huntly, VIC
Matthew Silcocks – Mount Waverley, VIC
Lindsay Sutton – Mount Mellum, QLD
Jack Swift – East Ivanhoe, VIC
Erinn Walters – Holder, ACT