Storm skipper Cameron Smith named world's best

Storm skipper Cameron Smith named world's best

Cameron Smith's perfect year has hit a new high with the Australian captain being named the Rugby League International Federation's player of the year.

Smith became only the third man to lead three different rugby league sides to silverware in the same season on Saturday following the Kangaroos' 18-10 win over New Zealand in Townsville.

Player of the year ... Cameron Smith.

Player of the year ... Cameron Smith.Credit:Getty Images

That followed Melbourne's NRL premiership success and Queensland's seventh consecutive State of Origin series win.

Smith was also named international hooker of the year and was one of seven Australians included in the international team of the year, along with Storm teammate Cooper Cronk.


Melbourne's Craig Bellamy won the coach of the year prize.

It's the first time Smith has won the award, which was first presented in 2008 to Billy Slater.

Other previous winners are Jarryd Hayne in 2009, Todd Carney in 2010 and Slater again last year at a presentation at the Tower of London.

England winger Ryan Hall and Canterbury's James Graham were the only non-Australian players to be selected in the team of the year.

Exciting Kiwi playmaker Shaun Johnson scooped the international rookie of the year prize.

Australia's Ben Cummins won international referee of the year award.


International Player of the Year: Cameron Smith (Aus)
International Coach of the Year: Craig Bellamy (Aus)
International Rookie of the Year: Shaun Johnson (NZ)

International team of the year:
Fullback: Ben Barba (Aus)
Winger: Ryan Hall (Eng)
Centre: Jamie Lyon (Aus)
Five-Eighth: Johnathan Thurston (Aus)
Halfback: Cooper Cronk (Aus)
Lock: Paul Gallen (Aus)
Second Row: Nate Myles (Aus)
Prop: James Graham (Eng)
Hooker: Cameron Smith (Aus)


Most Viewed in Sport