India tightens control over Kashmir

Updated October 31 2019 - 8:08am, first published 8:05am
India has formally split Jammu and Kashmir into two territories ruled directly by New Delhi.

India has formally split the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two federally-administered territories in its effort to tighten control over the militancy-ridden region.



Get the latest Canberra news in your inbox

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

We care about the protection of your data. Read our Privacy Policy.