ACT News


ACT real estate agents bring home awards

Real estate agents in the ACT have shown they are among the best in the country after taking out more than a third of national awards at an annual industry event.

ACT agencies and sales people took out six of 16 awards at the Real Estate Institute of Australia National Awards for Excellence held in Tasmania on Thursday evening.

The Independent Property Group proved its dominance once again taking out five of the awards.

The ACT agency took out the large residential agency of the year and the communications award.

Residential salesperson of the year was presented to Wayne Harriden, while Hannah Gill was awarded the residential property manager of the year.

The national achievement award went to Vickie Arlott.


Raine and Horne Commercial Canberra's Mark Terracini was awarded commercial salesperson of the year. He has won the ACT award four years in a row.

The national recognition for Canberra's Independent Property Group followed a strong performance at the Real Estate Institute of the ACT awards, which were held in August 2013.

The winners of the major local awards in each state or territory go on to vie for the national awards.

Speaking after the ACT awards last year, REI ACT president Michael Kumm said the Independent Property Group had put together the perfect package and had long been well regarded throughout the country.

ACT event organiser Annie Greg said at the time that the territory tended to punch above its weight at the national awards.

The ACT took out two categories in the 2013 national awards with Maria Selleck Properties named small residential agency of the year and Luton Properties winning the communication award.

The ninth annual Awards for Excellence, which were held at the Museum of Old and New Art in Hobart, represent the best performance by the ACT real estate profession in at least five years.

Victoria took out four awards, winning the small residential agency of the year, the commercial agency of the year, the innovation award and the community service award.