ACT News


Minister's seat faces shake-up

The seat of Burrinjuck, on the ACT's northern border, would have its boundaries changed and be renamed under proposals released on Monday by the NSW Electoral Commission.

The Liberal Party had proposed the seat of Goulburn, which it holds, be retained but Burrinjuck held by the Nationals, be scrapped.

The Nationals had proposed keeping Burrinjuck and scrapping Goulburn.

The commission is proposing sections of Burrinjuck be moved into other electorates, including a newly named electorate, Cootamundra.

The commission is now seeking objections before July 17 to proposed boundary changes across the state.

Nationals member for Burrinjuck Katrina Hodgkinson, who is NSW Minister for Primary Industries and Small Business, said that under the proposal the name of the Burrinjuck electorate was changed to Cootamundra and the electorate would move significantly westward.

The electorate of Burrinjuck stretches from Cowra in the north to Gundagai and the ACT in the south, and from Crookwell in the east to Grenfell and Cootamundra in the west.

Electoral boundaries are redrawn after every two state elections to ensure the population in each district is about the same.