Click here to submit your sports results for The Canberra Times

Five ACT Rockets players named in Australian squad for indoor cricket World Cup

Another Australian indoor team selected, another Floros family affair - it's becoming something of a tradition.

ACT indoor cricket stars Matthew, Tim, and Benji Floros have been selected in the open men's Australian side alongside Rockets teammates Vinesh Bennett and Luke Ryan.

Cousin of the family trio Alexander Floros has been named alongside Tyler Hays as the ACT's representatives in the Australian under 21 squad.

The squads are gearing up for a trip to Dubai for the WICF Indoor Cricket World Cup, where they will look to defend their titles in September.

The selections don't come as a surprise after the Rockets snatched their second national title in three years and avenged last year's defeat with an 84-75 win over Queensland in Mackay on Saturday.

Bennett has long been a part of the Australia set up and was a standout for the Rockets at the national titles.


Ginninderra club cricketer Ryan became the second Rockets player in a row to claim player of the tournament honours at the national titles after Matthew Floros achieved the feat last year.

Rockets staple Brock Winkler missed selection despite being named man of the match in the national championship grand final.

But the window is well and truly open for more opportunities down the track, with two titles and another grand final appearance in three years signalling the early stages of an ACT dynasty.

The green and gold is seemingly woven into the Floros DNA, with national team manager and uncle Billy Floros turning out for the national side in years gone by. 

The eldest Floros brother is Queensland and Brisbane Heat cricketer Jason, who previously represented Australia on the indoor scene before taking his talents outdoors.

Another cousin, Jake Floros, has previously been named in non-touring Australian squads.

Open Men's squad: Vinesh Bennett, Benji Floros, Matthew Floros, Tim Floros, Luke Ryan (ACT); Rhys Dearness, Rob Fitzgerald, Jay Otto, Lyle Teske (QLD); Travis Baker, Justin Perkins (VIC); Chris Chellew (WA). Coach: Ross Gregory. Assistant Coach: Rob Boiston. Manager: Billy Floros.

21 & Under Men's squad: Alexander Floros, Tyler Hays (ACT); Hamish Chapman, Jeremy Crighton, Ryan Dowse, Adrian Lascu, Blaine Schloss, Matt Schubert (QLD); Jamie Diener, Zachary Schwarz (SA); Joshua Fontana, Blair Oakley (WA). Coach: Brenton Brien. Assistant Coach: Tony Panecasio. Manager: Grant MacQuarrie.