Official secretary to the governors-general

By Ct Archives
December 1 2023 - 12:00am

Sir David Smith was the official secretary to five governors-general from 1973 to 1990, including Sir John Kerr in 1975 when he, as governor-general, dismissed the Whitlam government. Sir David was knighted by the Queen at Balmoral Castle in 1990.

Subscribe now for unlimited access.


(min cost $0)

or signup to continue reading

See subscription options

Get the latest Canberra news in your inbox

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

We care about the protection of your data. Read our Privacy Policy.