Public service overhaul: 18 departments down to 14, five secretaries sacked

Sally Whyte
Adrian Rollins
Updated December 11 2019 - 3:19pm, first published December 5 2019 - 2:00pm

Prime Minister Scott Morrison has announced a major shake-up of the public service today, with five department heads shown the door and the number of departments reduced to 14.

Subscribe now for unlimited access.

or signup to continue reading

All articles from our website & app
The digital version of Today's Paper
Breaking news alerts direct to your inbox
Interactive Crosswords, Sudoku and Trivia
All articles from the other in your area
Sally Whyte

Sally Whyte

Federal Politics Reporter

I report on a range of issues in federal politics and the public service, with a real passion for how decisions made in Canberra affect the lives of Australians.

Adrian Rollins

Adrian Rollins


Adrian Rollins is economics correspondent for the Canberra Times

Get the latest Canberra news in your inbox

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

We care about the protection of your data. Read our Privacy Policy.